Skip to main content

Edward M. Kennedy Institute Award for Inspired Leadership

“What counts in our leadership is not the length of years in Washington, but the reach of our vision, the strength of our beliefs, and that rare quality of mind and spirit that can call forth the best in our country and the best in the world.”
Senator Edward M. Kennedy

The Inspired Leadership Award was created to recognize an individual who reflects the best leadership qualities of Senator Edward M. Kennedy himself, an exemplary leader who made a difference throughout his life and career by service to his country and community and inspired others to be civically engaged.  The award recognizes an individual who reflects the distinct qualities of the legacy of Senator Kennedy.

Past Recipients


Anthony S. Fauci, M.D.
Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Bill Russell posthumously
Boston Celtics legend and civil right advocate


Stéphane Bancel
Chief Executive Officer, Moderna

Albert Bourla, DVM, PH.D.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Pfizer


Governor Charlie Baker
Governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Governor Andrew Cuomo
Governor of the State of New York


Anne M. Finucane
Vice Chair, Bank of America & Chair, Bank of America, Merrill Lynch Europe


Jack Connors, Jr.
President, Connors Family Office &  Founding Partner, Hill Holliday


The Honorable John Kerry
Former U.S. Secretary of State and former U.S. Senator (D-MA)

Back to Annual Dinner Page