Skip to main content

About the institute

Board of Directors

The Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate is dedicated to educating the public about the important role of the Senate in our government, encouraging participatory democracy, invigorating civil discourse, and inspiring the next generation of citizens and leaders to engage in the civic life of their communities.

Bruce A. Percelay

Chair of the Board

Andrew Card Jr.

Chairman, National Endowment for Democracy

Ranny Cooper

President of Weber Shandwick Public Affairs

The Honorable William “Mo” Cowan

Chief Legal and External Affairs Officer, Devoted Health

Stephanie Cutter

Partner & Cofounder, Precision Strategies

The Honorable Thomas A. Daschle

Former Democratic Leader of the U.S. Senate

The Honorable Chris Dodd

Senior Counsel, Arnold & Porter

The Honorable Linda Dorcena Forry

Former Massachusetts State Senator

Cody Keenan
Cody Keenan

Chief Speechwriter for President Barack Obama

The Honorable Joseph P. Kennedy

Founder, Groundwork Project

The Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy

Former US Representative, Rhode Island; Founder, The Kennedy Forum; Co-Founder, One Mind

Martin Luther King III

Global Human Rights Activist and CO-Founder of Drum Major Institute

The Honorable Martin T. Meehan

President, University of Massachusetts

Robert Shrum

Director of the Center for the Political Future and the Carmen H. and Louis Warschaw Chair in Practical Politics at USC Dornsife

The Honorable John E. Sununu

Former U.S. Senator, New Hampshire

Marcelo Suárez-Orozco

Chancellor, University of Massachusetts, Boston

Henry M. Thomas III

President Emeritus, Urban League of Springfield, Inc.

Emeritus Board

Ambassador Victoria Reggie Kennedy

Co-Founder and Board President Emerita

James J. Karam

President and Founder of First Bristol Corporation

John M. Connors Jr.

Founding Partner and Chairman Emeritus of Hill, Holliday, Connors, Cosmopulos, Inc.

A. Lee Fentress

Co-Founder of Octagon

The Honorable Judd Gregg

Former United States Senator

The Honorable Trent Lott

Former Republican Leader of the U.S. Senate

Ralph C. Martin

Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Northeastern University

Barry Mills

Interim Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston

Dr. J. Keith Motley

Chancellor Emeritus, University of Massachusetts Boston

The Honorable Louis B. Susman

Former United States Ambassador to the Court of St. James’s

Fred.A Seigel

President and Chief Operating Officer, Beacon Capital Partners

Barbara A. Souliotis

Former State Director, Office of The Honourable Edward M. Kennedy

In Memoriam

Nick Littlefield (August 6, 1942 – February 4, 2017)

Partner at Foley Hoag, LLP

David W. Burke (April 3, 1936 – April 18, 2014)

Founding Director

Kara Kennedy (February 27, 1960 – September 16, 2011)

Board Member